The Enbridge Youth Leadership Award recognizes young people who are making a difference in our society. Five awards of $1000 each are presented during a special awards ceremony.


The purpose of the Enbridge Famous 5 Youth Leadership Awards is to identify young people who are working to make a difference in our society, and reward the hard work, determination and leadership they demonstrate. 



Five awards of $1000 each. 



The program is open to all Canadian youth, ages 15–20.



Applicants must demonstrate leadership and ingenuity as trailblazers undertaking community initiatives that have measurable results. Initiatives must align with one of the five attribute categories of the Famous Five that are outlined below.

Submissions can come in any format that helps showcase the project from essays and videos to photo galleries and slideshows. Any multimedia or non-written submission must be supported by a brief printed summary that describes the vision and details of the project and how it aligns to one of the attributes of the Famous Five.

Two short letters of reference from non-family members (a page or less) are required to illustrate the character, personal traits and leadership of the applicant. If possible, these references should also speak to the effectiveness of the initiative being submitted.

All submissions must contain the applicant’s full name, address, telephone number, email address and educational institution the applicant is attending (if applicable). 



Applications will be reviewed by a committee, and awards will be selected on the basis of content originality, sustainability, strength of references, and alignment with the values and beliefs of the Famous Five. Winners will be presented with their award in June 2015.



  1. Resourcefulness and Perseverance
    Judge Emily Murphy (1868–1933) was a prominent suffragist who worked tirelessly to pass the Dower Act, giving women the right to one third of their marital estates. She was the first woman in the Commonwealth to be appointed magistrate in 1916.
  2. Strategy and Bigger Picture
    Henrietta Muir Edwards (1849–1931) advocated for public libraries, mothers' allowances, equal parent rights, divorce and penal reform. She founded the National Council of Women, Victorian Order of Nurses, and established the prototype for the YWCA.
  3. Revolutionary Thinking
    Louise McKinney (1868–1931) was a dedicated organizer who took a stance against animal abuse, and eventually founded the SPCA. She also took a stance against the use of alcohol.
  4. Advocacy for Women and Children
    Irene Parlby (1868–1965) rose from “farm to legislature.” She transformed the Women’s Auxiliary of the United Farmers of Alberta into the United Farm Women of Alberta. She was the first female cabinet minister in Alberta’s history, and was awarded an honorary doctorate from the University of Alberta.
  5. Teaching and Education
    Nellie McClung (1873–1951) was a suffragist, reformer, legislator, teacher, and the author of 15 books. She took part in a Mock Parliament that led to Manitoba women being the first to have the right to vote, followed closely by Saskatchewan and Alberta.



May 15, 2016. Late applications will not be considered.



All submissions must be sent to admin@famous5.ca or to:
Famous 5 Foundation
Box 72137
RPO Glenmore Landing
Calgary, Alberta T2V 5H9

Please note that couriers will not deliver to this address. Submissions must be postmarked May 15th



Donna Leonard Robb
Executive Director
(403) 253 -1927