7:00 PM19:00

Special Film Screening with Helen Clark, former Prime Minister of New Zealand

The High Commissioner of New Zealand, Famous 5 Ottawa, One World Arts, the Canadian Council for International Co-operation, and Carleton University cordially invite you to join Helen Clark, former Prime Minister of New Zealand for a special screening and Q & A of the documentary for her campaign for Secretary General of the UN.

View Event →
6:00 PM18:00

100 Years of Nation Building

One hundred years ago, on May 24, 1918, An Act to confer the Electoral Franchise upon Women was passed by Parliament in the Rotunda at the Canadian Museum of Nature.

Join us as we celebrate this important milestone in the journey of women’s suffrage, in the very room the law was passed.

An inspirational panel on nation-building to be followed by cocktail reception.

View Event →
11:30 AM11:30

Monique Bégin Among Five Outstanding Women to be Honoured by Famous 5 Ottawa and Governor General

Political leader and activist the Honourable Monique Bégin is one of five outstanding Canadian women to be honoured by Famous 5 Ottawa as a nation builder.

Bégin will be joined by Montreal academic and advocate Marie-Thérèse Chicha; Vancouver family physician and community leader Ruth Elwood Martin; Ottawa legal activist, scholar and educator Sheila McIntyre; and Halifax community leader advocate and volunteer Dee M. Dooley at a Famous 5 luncheon April 21, 2016, the same day they will receive the 2015 Governor General’s Awards in Commemoration of the Persons Case at Rideau Hall.


View Event →
5:00 PM17:00

Famous 5 Ottawa Celebrates 15th Anniversary of The Women Are Persons!

Famous 5 Ottawa will celebrate the 15th anniversary of the inauguration of the Women are Persons! monument placed on Parliament Hill.

The group of volunteer women that make up Famous 5 Ottawa will be joined by Senator Jim Munson and the 2015 Governor General’s History Award recipients at a reception in the Foyer of the Senate of Canada October 15, 2015, followed by an address by Famous 5 Ottawa Chair Isabel Metcalfe to Canada’s History Forum.


View Event →
11:45 AM11:45

Famous 5 Ottawa Honours Ontario Premier Kathleen Wynne As Nation Builder

Ontario Premier Kathleen Wynne takes centre stage at the National Arts Centre (NAC) April 30, 2015 where she will be honoured as a nation builder by the Famous 5 Ottawa.

“We are proud to honour Ontario’s 25th Premier and the first woman to serve in that role, Kathleen Wynne, as a nation builder in the legacy of the Famous FIve,” said Isabel Metcalfe, chair of Famous 5 Ottawa.


View Event →
11:45 AM11:45

Famous 5 Ottawa Honours Three Women Heading National Political Party Campaign Leaders as Nation Builder

Following in McClung’s trail blazing footsteps, for the first time in Canadian history, the 2015 federal election will see the campaigns of all three leading political parties run by women.

The Famous 5 Ottawa will honour these women – Jenni Byrne, the Conservatives’ campaign manager, Anne McGrath, the NDP’s campaign director and Katie Telford, the Liberals’ campaign co-chair – as nation builders at a luncheon March 9, 2015 at The Westin Ottawa Hotel.


View Event →